Geography of Czechia

Czechia is a landlocked country in Central Europe, consisting of three historical lands, Bohemia (Čechy), Moravia (Morava) and Czech Silesia (Slezsko). The country is bordered by Germany to the west and northwest, Poland to the northeast, Slovakia to the east and Austria to the south. 

Area: 78,866 km2 Water: 2%

Population: 10,610,947 Density: 134/km2

Czechia lies mostly between latitudes 48° and 51° N (a small area lies north of 51°), and longitudes 12° and 19° E. Landscape of Czechia is exceedingly varied. Bohemia, to the west, consists of a basin drained by the Elbe (Czech: Labe) and the Vltava rivers, surrounded by mostly low mountains, such as the Krkonoše. The highest point in the country, Sněžka at 1,603 m (5,259 ft), is located here. Moravia, the eastern part of the country, is also quite hilly. It is drained mainly by the Morava River, but it also contains the source of the Odra River. 

Water from the landlocked Czechia flows to three different seas: the North SeaBaltic Sea and Black SeaPhytogeographically, Czechia belongs to the Central European province of the Circumboreal Region, within the Boreal Kingdom. According to the World Wide Fund for Nature, the territory of Czechia can be subdivided into four ecoregions: the Western European broadleaf forests, Central European mixed forests, Pannonian mixed forests, and Carpathian montane conifer forests. There are four national parks in Czechia - Krkonoše National Park, Šumava National Park with primeval forestPodyjí National Park, and Bohemian Switzerland (former volcanic hills and rocks).

The three historical lands of Czechia (formerly the core countries of the Bohemian Crown) correspond almost perfectly with the river basins of the Elbe (Czech: Labe) and the Vltava basin for Bohemia, the Morava one for Moravia, and the Oder river basin for Czech Silesia.

Czechia map - Česko mapa

Česko - Geographic map

Česko / Czechia - political map

Česko / Czechia - Political map

Czechia - Topographic map

Czechia - Topografic map

Europe and Czechia map

Czechia on the map of Europe

Czechia - Bohemia, Moravia, Silesia

Czechia - historical lands and regions

Most of the country is a cultural land. They are many specific landscape areas in Czechia, e.g. so called Bohemian Paradise with larg rock “cities”, South Bohemian ponds area, South Moravian Pálava region with area of exceptional Mediterrean flora in Central Europe, Bohemian Karst, Moravian Karst, Děčín rocks, etc. Bohemian Paradise, South Bohemian ponds area, South Moravian Pálava region with area of exceptional Mediterrean flora in Central Europe Bohemian Karst, Moravian Karst with Macocha abyss, Děčín rocks, etc.

Particular historical lands of Czechia are usually geographically compartmentalized in different way than administrative-political regions (above). They are five regions of Bohemia - Central Bohemia, North Bohemia, East Bohemia, South Bohemia and West Bohemia, two of Moravia - North Moravia and South Moravia, and Silesia. 

© 2018 by Czechia Civic Initiative


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Blogger Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • W